knitted flower pattern

knitted mini christmas stockings

Stockings
UPDATE: November 2015.

There is a brand new PDF file for this pattern that you can download for free here. Stocking Pattern Link: download now.

.........................................................................................................................

I knit this stocking flat because I don't enjoy knitting in the round and prefer working fair Isle and intarsia designs this way.

 

Tree_stocking

I tend to work it on double pointed needles because during heel shaping you need to switch from working one side to the other. You can knit it on regular needles but slide the work across onto a second needle at appropriate time. Apart from the stocking top it is worked in stocking stitch (knit on right side and purl on reverse)

Stockings6

 

Materials:
oddments of yarn. I prefer to knit these on 2.75 mm needles with pure cotton 4ply but the pattern will knit up with whatever you prefer. Note, obviously the larger the needle size and thicker the yarn, the larger the finished stocking. Before you start, decide which colour you are going to knit the heel in and cut a length at least 110cm (44”) keep to one side for second heel shaping*.

PATTERN:

Cast on 25 sts, **(27 if knitting one of the stranded designs charted below)
rows 1 - 3: knit
row 4: (right side) begin pattern from charts below (if required)
work a total of 14 rows of pattern ending with a wrong side row.
**if working in one of the stranded / fairisle designs: on last wrong side row of pattern chart decrease 1 stitch at either end to give 25 stitches

 

Stocking chart2

 

Start at the bottom of the chart for the pattern charts

Heel shaping:
I like to use different coloured yarn to accentuate heel. The heel is worked in 2 halves.
row 18: with right side facing, k7 and turn leaving remaining stitches on needle
row 19: slip 1, p6
repeat these 2 rows 3 more times until 8 rows of heel have been worked
row 26: k3, k2tog through the back, k1, turn leaving 1 remaining stich of heel on needle (see photo step 1)

 

Step_1

row 27: slip 1, p4
row 28: k2, k2tog through the back, turn leaving remaining 2 stiches on needle
row 29: slip 1, p2
row 30: k2, k2tog through the back, k1, turn
row 31: slip 1, p3
leaving these 4 stitches on needle with the main part of the stocking, slide all the work along needle, turn with wrong side facing and resume working the other side of the heel (see photo step 2).

 

Step_2

reverse row 18: with wrong side facing and using 110cm length of yarn cut earlier*, p7 and turn leaving remaining stitches on needle
reverse row 19: slip 1, k6
repeat these 2 rows 3 more times until 8 rows of heel have been worked
reverse row 26: p3, p2tog, p1, turn leaving 1 remaining stich of heel on needle
reverse row 27: slip 1, k4
reverse row 28: p2, p2tog, turn leaving remaining 2 stiches on needle
reverse row 29: slip 1, k2
reverse row 30: p2, p2tog, p1, turn
reverse row 31: slip 1, k3

row 32: with right side facing rejoin main colour and begin knitting across first 4 stitches of heel shaping, pick up 5 stitches from inside edge of heel (see photo step 3), knit 11 stitches across main part of stocking, pick up 5 stitches from inside edge of 2nd heel half and knit final 4 stitches (29 stitches on needle) (see photo step 4)

 

Step_3

Step_4

row 33: purl
row 34: K8, k2tog, k9, k2tog through the back, k8
row 35: p7, p2tog through the back, p9, p2tog, p7
row 36: K6, k2tog, k9, k2tog through the back, k6 (23 stitches)
row 37: purl
work a further 8 rows of stocking stitch (knit on right side, purl on reverse)
row 46: with right side facing change colour for toe cap (see photo step 5) and work 2 rows

 

Step_5

row 48: K3, K2tog through the back, k4, k2tog, k1, k2tog through the back, k4, k2tog, k3
row 49: purl
row 50: K3, K2tog through the back, k2, k2tog, k1, k2tog through the back, k2, k2tog, k3 (15 stitches) (see photo step 6)

 

Step_6

row 51: purl

Making Up:

Cut work from the ball leaving a long end for sewing up. Thread end through 15 stitches on needle (see photo step 7) and pull up tight.

 

Step_7

Join seam running up bottom and back of stocking using mattress stitch (see photo step 8).

 

Step_8

Turn inside out and tie up all ends securely and trim - no need to sew them in. Turn right side out.

Hanging loop: cast on 35 stitches and then cast them off. Double strip over to make a loop and sew to back of stocking. Secure with a cute button.

Stockings

Copyright © Julie Williams 2005.

There are lots of ideas for adapting the design of this pattern (for instance adding numbers to make an advent calendar) over on ravelry:

 

Comments

Cognitive Crafter

Dang, this is sooo cute! I'd better get cracking now to be in time for the holidays!

turvid

Very cute! :)

maaria

these are absolute the cutiest christmas stockings i've ever seen!

Sharon

I love your little stockings and can't wait to try one. Thanks to friends who send us to such lovely sites and to you and people like you that take the time to design and share your creations :0)

Alice

These are lovely, I'm going to try knitting some for my tree now! Thank you so much.

Helena

Thank you so much for charing the stocking pattern, it's great!!! :)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/craftcreativity/1935855826/

Karen

Thanks a stack for sharing. I am a new knitter so appreciated the fact these are knitted flat. I made the stocking with the christmas tree.

http://www.karenerasmus.co.uk/

the Holistic Knitter

Thank you so much for this free pattern. I'm going to knit 24 of these little stockings - I'll then string them up and use them as my Advent Calendar. Many thanks for a lovely pattern ;o)

kate

Got to tell you it is 5 am and i busy downloading your pattern so i can try it very soon. It's absolutely perfect.i like the fact that it is a true miniature not a clumsy gee-gawk quick ornamenty thing. thanks for the lovely pattern.

Marissa

Thank you so much for sharing this pattern! I just knitted up a pink one for my daughter. It's so cute! Can't wait to get started on another. Hugs, Marissa

Lauren

I just saw these on the Loopy Ewe and think they are adorable. I might not get a chance to knit them until February but they are cute as can be. Thanks for the great patterns!

ck

These are just adorable! I can't wait to try one :)

princess

what lovely patterns, and fab photos too - thank you!

lbquilts

Thank you for these awesome little mini socks! I love Fairisle after making 6 Fairisle Christmas stockings for my g'kids! If ok, I would like to link to you on my blog.

stefanie

hi - i love this pattern! it's so easy and am making one for everyone for christmas! one comment - on row 36, should the first "k2tog through the back" actually be a "k2tog"?

thanks!
stefanie

Astrid from the Netherlands

These are positively addictive to make!
The last (very busy) three days I've made three already and the fourth is on the needles as we speak. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely pattern!

pam

Thank for such lovely patterns I adore cup cakes and am wondering if you know how to get hold of a mini cup cup pattern the size of your easter eggs
Thanks again
Pam x

Yvonne

These stockings were soo easy and quick! I made one for every employee in my office to decorate with and embroidered their names on them. Everyone thought they were so cute. Thanks for the pattern!

Chris Vanderslice

So cute. Thanks for posting free patterns. I know it's a lot of work and I appreciate it.

Maggie

Your patterns are so cool! Can you be persuaded to tell us how to make those gorgeous cupcakes? Please....please....please....!!!!

Betty

thanks a bunch for easter egg pattren pressie for friend sorted

Eve

Thank you for such darling patterns! I've made lots of mini socks/stockings, but these are just TOO cute!

Pix

Thanks so much for the free patterns :) This is my first time to see your blog and i love it! It made me smile to see the knitted monkey. My little granddaughter loves monkeys and collects them,glad she isn't here to see this lol. Pix

Louise

I just love the little animals. Are those patterns available also? thanks

Aline Dufresne

Thank you for the lovely and so very easy pattern to follow of the mini xmas stockings. I have made one up and appreciate the step by step instructions with photos included. I have been away from knitting for many years and the photos sure helped. I like the fact that these stockings can be knitted up on two needles, dislike using four needles. Plan to make all of the ones shown on your web page for next Xmas.

Aline

Ali

Hello, what a wonderful site you have, I should be working (I'm a garden designer as well as a passionate sticher) but my creative juices failed to flow so I was jumping around on the net when I found you.
I am writing to ask a question I feel you may have already had to answer many times...will you publish your cup cake patten? Pleeeeease. The others I have found are clunky and out of proportion, yours seems to be just right. I would be very happy to buy the patten as I am sure so many of your mailers would.
In the mean time I will be using up my odds and ends making your other pattens, but maybe you will think about it????
Best Regards
Ali

Andrea

Hi from New Zealand
Love your patterns wondering if the pattern for the bigger bunny wearing jersey is available anywhere in New Zealand. Have a new baby due in family soon and think it would be ideal.
Regards
Andrea

Paula

I found you through Ravelry and had to tell you what adorable stockings those are! I think my Christmas tree needs some of those this year! Thanks for the pattern and great pictures!

Susan Locke

Wonderful stocking pattern - do you have stitch numbers to make the mini stockings the size to "hang for Santa"?

Sue

maybe i'm reading the stocking pattern wrong... but i'm curious how the more basic looking stockings are done? the directions seem to focus on the fair isle -- but i'm thinking the stripe with the contrasting heel might be more aligned with my capabilities....

The comments to this entry are closed.