Teeny tiny knitted toys
knitting note paper

Christmas tree bears

Christmas toys

 

You can download a free pdf to print out here:

Download Christmas tree bears

Materials needed: 

2.25mm needles (size 1 US, UK/Canada 13)
a pair of double pointed needles 2.25mm (size 1 US, UK/Canada 13)
oddments of 4ply yarn in red and white
oddments of bear coloured yarn (4ply or DK)
a small circle of felt to reinforce the stitching on the face
a short length of black yarn for embroidering the face
small amount of toy stuffing / carded wool
6 inch length of ribbon
a couple of lengths of strong yarn

(knitting this pattern in thicker weight yarn and larger needle sizes will give a larger decoration)

 

Pattern:

Cast on 20 stitches with red coloured yarn
Rows 1&2: Knit all stitches
Row 3: K2 red, (K1 white, K1 red) 9 times
Row 4: Purl all stitches in red
Rows 5-10: Continue in stocking stitch with red yarn for a further 6 rows. Cut the red yarn from work leaving a tail of 5 inches or so for seaming later.
Rows 11-18: Change to bear coloured yarn and work 8 rows of stocking stitch

Finish knitting

 

With a 6 inch long length of strong yarn (one that will not break) thread through the 20 stitches on  the needle slipping them off as you go (don’t yet tie off these ends). Take another 6 inch length of the strong yarn and pick up the loops from the back of the topmost row of red knitting, again leaving this loose for now.

Pickup loops

 

Now take your small circle of felt and place at the back of the work behind where you plan to embroider the face. Using the black yarn embroider a small nose in centre of face - I use 1 stitch across and 1 small stitch downwards. Now add the eyes (if you wish you can tie a small knot in the thread to make the eye stand out). Knot the black thread at the back of the work and tie ends securely trimming off the excess.

Finish face from backFinish face

 

Take the length of ribbon, double it over and tie a knot in the end to form a loop. Pull the strong yarn ends at the very top of the work to start to gather in the top of the head. Thread the ribbon through the top gathered edge of the head with the loop on the outside and the knot inside the head. Tightly pull the yarn ends gathering in the top of head and tie off securely. Begin joining the seam down the back of the head using the cast off end of bear coloured yarn.

Insert ribbon

 

When you reach the bottom of the head take a small piece of stuffing and use to firmly stuff the head. Then take up the second pair of strong yarn ends and pull very tightly to gather in the neck - tie off securely and leave ends inside the body. Continue seaming down the rest of the body to the cast on edge.

Join seam

 

Stuff the body cavity and join the seam at the bottom of the dress (I pick up the stitch loops inside the body from the back of the second row up. This gives a nice flared out edge to the bottom of the dress).

Ready for arms

 

Now make the limbs (4 the same). Cast on 4 stitches with the double pointed needles and knit a short i-cord (tutorial here - scroll down to find) of around 6 rows in length. Cut the work from the ball and thread the end through the stitches on the needle and then through the middle of the work - knotting it securely to the cast on tail (there are pictures for making the limbs over on my free pattern for teeny tiny toys)

To make the bear ears cast on 3 stitches, knit 1 row, cast off 3. Tie cast on and cast off ends together tightly and join to the top of the head with a few stitches. Knot ends securely together and thread through the body before trimming excess.

Take the first of the limbs and join to the body with a few stitches. Knot ends securely together and thread through the body before trimming off the excess. Repeat with the remaining limbs.
And there you have a little, itty, bitty bear Christmas decoration, all ready for hanging on the tree!

Christmas toys

If you prefer you can make the dress extra long (around 12 rows) and not bother with the legs.

Longdress

 

If you would like a rabbit instead of a bear please see my free pattern for teeny tiny toys for the rabbit ear instructions.

Copyright © Julie Williams 2008.

 

Comments

Devi

So sweet, Julie! Thank you so much for sharing the pattern. I'll try it one day - I just finished the scarf for my son yesterday (I started it last year - I'm such a bad and slow knitter *lol*) and he loved it. Have a lovely new week!

Rhiannon

These are so cute! I just wish I was a good enough knitter to have them done in time... possible next year would be a better bet!
x

Kate G.

Excellent tutorial, Julie. I love your choice of colors and materials and the "no legs" modification is so smart. Can't believe you found the time to do this, but so happy you did.

Jenni

Love these Jule!...have promptly stopped the house work, (!!) to make several of these for sister in Holland who is crazy about bears! Many thanks ..Jenni

Carolyn

Gorgeous! I can't wait to knit some of these to help with my wrapping decoration! Thaks so much.

Dees

thank you sooooo much Julie!Wow I admire you for doing this during this busy holiday season!!!chapeau!!

Amanda

Wow! What a wonderful idea. Thanks so much for sharing!

Ann-Louice

They are so cute. I just love them.

I would start believing in Santa again if I found such cute thing in my christmas tree.

Thank you for sharing your talent with us.


Jenny Blackman

These are gorgeous, I only stumbled across Little Cotton Rabbits by chance today and I think I'm going to give one of these a go. Definitely returning soon! Thanks!!

mrspao

Thank you for such a lovely gift for us :)

frazzy dazzles

Julie,

If I pay the airfares will you come to Australia and teach me to knit like you????

They are so lovely!

Jen

Rachel

And Happy Christmas to you too :) These came just in the nick of time- my secret santa will be receiving some in her parcel! Thanks for the pattern (I think the kids might get some too...)

~Rachel~

Linda

Thanks for the beautiful pattern. I've wrapped up the craft projects for Christmas and now I can start on these pronto!! Merry Christmas from Massachusetts.

Lucy

Gorgeous!!

Kay Cavnar

These are just so darling! Thank you so much for sharing with us. I pray you and yours have a blessed Christmas season.
Blessings,
Kay

Michelle

Thanks you so much for sharing you talent with us. You are truly a treasure!


Maggie Ann

These are so darling! Thank you for the gift of this sweet pattern. Oh, I hope I can take the time and try one. Your creations are so special.

Frances

They are lovely, I need more time so I can make some.

Kitty

Thank you Julie for sharing! they are so sweet! i think i am gg to make a tree full of that! and they definitely make a good quick gift topper!!!

So nice of you to share this! Thank you once again! *MUAKZ*

Kate

Thank you for sharing this pattern ... it is so cute! I hope I get time to knit it this Christmas season.

I hope that you and your family have a very Happy Christmas.

Regan

Thank you Julie for this adorable pattern, they will definitely be a little something extra special to make my munchkins for Christmas.
Blessings to you and your family for Christmas.

Terrie

This is such an adorable pattern! Thank you for sharing :)

gels

Thank you so much! This has been an excellent tutorial for me: learned duplicate stitch, icord, and made a quick little something in just over an hour! Absolutely love it.

heidi

they are soooooooo cute - I'll think I have to make a few to put on my Christmas tree:)

Kathryn Pike

Hi
Love this pattern.
Have already made the tiny bears from the last pattern for:
1. birthday present - bear and teeny cake - made into a fridge magnet.
2. christmas present - family of four tiny blue bears on fridge magents
3. christmas present - bear and teeny cake on a keyring!!!

Now I can make some for myself (at last) for the christmas tree!!!

And they will be so cute and festive!

THANK YOU!!

Maureen

Thank you so much for sharing this sweet pattern...it's almost as sweet as the newborn little girl that I'm going to knit one for...her first tree ornament! How can I ever thank you?!
Wishing you and your family all the best of this holiday season!
Happy knitting!

Debbie

I saw these on another blog, that linked to your blog. Thank you so much for the pattern, and for all of the tutorials. These are so adorable, and while I don't like knitting tiny things, I wold love to see one of these on my daughter's present!

Debbie

I saw these on another blog, that linked to your blog. Thank you so much for the pattern, and for all of the tutorials. These are so adorable, and while I don't like knitting tiny things, I wold love to see one of these on my daughter's present!

Debbie

I saw these on another blog, that linked to your blog. Thank you so much for the pattern, and for all of the tutorials. These are so adorable, and while I don't like knitting tiny things, I wold love to see one of these on my daughter's present!

Dianne

Hi, Julie! Those are adorable! Once I finish this dishcloth (which is just about my speed), I'm going to give these cuties a try. First, I have to buy some tiny knitting needles though. Hope all is well and thanks for sharing!

Blessings & hugs,
Dianne

The comments to this entry are closed.