knitted letter charts / alphabet
Teeny tiny knitted toys

knitted easter egg decoration

 

Eastereggs1

As of April 1st 2019 there is a downloadable PDF file for this pattern available free from Ravelry

download now

This pattern uses oddments of  4 ply yarn (I usually work it in cotton - such as Rowan Cotton 4ply) and uses 2.75 mm needles. My tension works out to 8 stitches and 10 rows per inch.

The egg is knitted flat and then seamed using mattress stitch. You can stuff the finished egg with polyfil / wool / cotton wadding or it will fit around a polystyrene egg (see here for supplies within the UK).

Row 1: Cast on  11 stitches (leaving a length of yarn about 6 inches for sewing up later)
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: K2, (*M1, K1) 8 times, K1 (19 stitches) *M1=make one,
Row 4: Purl
Row 5: K2, (M1, K1) 16 times, K1 (35 stitches)
Row 6: Purl
Row 7: Knit
Row 8: Purl
Row 9: K3, M1, (K2, M1) 6 times, K3, M1 (K2, M1) 7 times, K3 (50 stitches)
Row 10: Purl
Row 11: Change to yarn colour for pattern band - work chosen pattern band over the next 12 rows (see charts below for pattern suggestions) or simply use a contrasting colour for middle 12 rows.

Zig zag pattern using 3 colours:

 

Eggzigzag_3

Polka dot pattern using 2 colours:

 

Eggpolkadots2_3

Stripe pattern using 2 or more colours:

 

Eggstripes_4

gingham pattern using 3 colours:

 

Egggingham_3

Or why not design your own band (50 stitches x 12 rows):

 

Egggraph_2

Row 23: change yarn colour and knit
Row 24: purl
Row 25: K3, K2 tog, (K2, K2tog) 11 times, K1 (38 stitches)
Row 26: purl
Row 27: K2, K2 tog, (K1, K2tog) 11 times, K1 (26 stitches)
Row 28: purl
Row 29: knit
Row 30: purl
Row 31: K1, (K2 tog) 12 times, K1 (14 stitches)
Row 32: purl
Cut the work from the yarn leaving an end around 6 inches long, thread end through stitches on needle and pull up tight. Use this end to begin sewing up the seam. Sew around 1 inch of seam and then begin seaming at other end of egg.

If you want to hang the egg as a decoration then cut a length of ribbon and tie the ends together. Thread the loop through the gathered stitches at the pointed end of the egg leaving the knotted part inside.

At the other end of the egg thread the length of yarn left by the cast on and use to catch up the 11 stitch loops and up pull tight. Continue in mattress stitch to close the seam - leaving around 2 inches of unclosed seam to stuff the egg (if using polyfil or similar). If you are fitting it around a polystyrene egg just sew around half an inch of seam at either end and close the rest of the seam with the polystyrene egg in place.

When the seams meet tie off ends and thread inside trimming off any excess ends.

 

Eastereggs3

Copyright © Julie Williams 2006.

 

Comments

Rhonda

You never cease to amaze me with your designing skills AND your generosity! Thank you so much - these are stunning!

cindy

Yes, trully generous and gifted....^____^ thanks again Julie....^__^

Julie

I came via Ravelry and these are absolutely fabulous. They'll make a wonderful addition to my blown eggs that are covered with embroidery thread and/or origami paper. Thanks so much for sharing the pattern!

Michelle at Scribbit

Oh those are sweet! I'm marking this to do.

Julie

These are fabulous!

sarah

These are so fabulous, it’s my birthday at Easter so I'll defiantly be decorating with a few of your eggs

laura

Adorable! I just bought some new self-patterning sock yarn that I think might work well for this!

Cathy

These are lovely and you are very generous for sharing the pattern - many hours of frustrated knitting saved! Thank you kindly, you are an inspiring talent.

Dees

Thank you so much for this!!!wow so generous!I love these and can not wait to make some!xoxo

Carol Staples

Your monkey and bunny patterns are the cutest I've seen thus far. I saw what you'd made for Christmas toys; do you offer the body pattern for sale?
Thanks,
Carol
USA

Gen

can you tell me what M1 stands for in the directions? Love those eggs! Thanks

Sam

Hiya

These are beautiful little eggs, thanks for the free pattern. I just have one question about the following section

Row 27: K2, K2 tog, (K1, K2tog) 11 times, K1 (26 stitches)
Row 28: purl
Row 29: knit
Row 30: purl
Row 31: K1, K2 tog to last stitch, K1 (14 stitches)

I had the right amount of stitches at row 30 (26 stitches) but after following Row 31 I didn't end up with 14 stitches...is there something missing from Row 29? should I be reducing the stitches there because I did this over and over again and it still doesn't work out :\

Cheryl

The eggs are wonderful.

This is the first time I've visited here, I think I'm gonna enjoy exploring.

Miriam

The eggs are wonderful ! Thank you so much for sharing the patterns!

Heather

I found your egg pattern and have made 1 1/2 so far. Like someone above, I had the idea to use self patterning yarn that I had left over from some socks. It turned out great. Now my kids all want one to match their socks.

I don't have any more of the styrofoam egg forms, so I was thinking of tying a couple of marbles in a cloth bag and poking it into the centre of the stuffing, just to give them a bit of weight. Thanks for the great pattern!

Karen

Oh these are justs lovely! Time to get my oddments sorted out...

patch

For sam, comment from 1/27:

Be sure you're k2tog across 24 stitches, not just once. Since you start row 31 with 26 stitches, and start with K1, now there's 25 more to work. K2tog, K2tog, K2tog, K2tog, etc, until you get to the last stitch, that should be 12 K2tog, you should be losing a total of 12 stitches there. K1 for the last stitch, now you should have 14 stitches. (26-12=14)

Kerry

I wish I had the skills you have. I love your bright wonderful easter eggs. I would never be able to make anything as pretty as yours for my children.

I also love your rabbits, I have just ordered the sugar nellie stamps of your cute bunnies. I can not wait to have them here with me to play with.

Karen

These are so sweet! I saw your pictures on Flckr and followed them here. thanks for the pattern!

Liz

Oh these are so sweet! Thanks for sharing the pattern, I'm going to have a go at these :)

Marlene

I am so looking foward to making your beautiful eggs. I am wondering what M1 means? I am thinking it means to add a stitch. Thanks for the inspiration.

Kathryn

These are lovely :). I just put a link on my blog and included your picture. I hope that is OK.

evelyne Le Moal

superbes idées bravo

Mary G.

These are wonderful! I'd have to do them in the round though (I HATE seaming) but otherwise, I could probably whip up a batch of eggs pretty quickly.

THANKS! And this is a great site!

Meredith

These are adorable, thank you for the pattern!

petite-maman

hi,Your eggs are really cute! I made the translation in French.Do you agree if I post it in a french speaking forum?
Thanks

Pamie G.

I am not sure what M1 means (novice knitter here, I am so sorry!!) Pamie G.

marmotte

oh, it's so beautiful
and thanks for the explications
I've had your adress from a french forum of knitting: http://doudoumanya.easyforum.fr, you're mondialy knowed, now !!!!

petite-maman

I think M1 means increase 1

Yasmin

You are so talented and creative. Thank you. I have copied the eggs to print out for me to make them.

The comments to this entry are closed.